Take Action
Spent nuclear fuel continues to be stored near our coastline.
Join us in encouraging the federal government to support solutions.

Action for Spent Fuel Solutions Now is a new group of local governments, elected officials, utilities, environmental groups, labor leaders, Native American leaders, business organizations and other community members who support the relocation of spent nuclear fuel to a federally licensed facility away from our coastline. This is the first step forward to take action. Our founding members include representatives from the County of Orange, County of San Diego, Southern California Edison (SCE), San Diego Gas & Electric and the City of Riverside.

What we do

Our goal is to encourage the federal government to provide off-site storage and/or permanent disposal solutions for the spent nuclear fuel at the San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station (SONGS) and other nuclear sites across the state and nation, with input from stakeholders and engaged communities. SCE retired SONGS in 2013, but spent nuclear fuel continues to be stored on site with nowhere to send it.

Why action is needed

Under the Nuclear Waste Policy Act, the federal government was required by law and executed contracts with nuclear power providers to begin taking possession of and disposing spent nuclear fuel back in 1998. Today – more than two decades later – it has not yet fulfilled its legal and contractual obligations. Spent nuclear fuel can be safely stored on site at SONGS for decades, but SCE cannot complete decommissioning of the plant and restore the land until the federal government takes action to facilitate an off-site solution.


Executive Board

Supervisor Lisa Bartlett,
County of Orange
Supervisor Jim Desmond, Co-Chair
County of San Diego
Caroline Choi, Senior Vice President of Corporate Affairs
Southern California Edison
Estela de Llanos,
Vice President of Energy Procurement & Sustainability
San Diego Gas & Electric
Mayor Patricia Lock Dawson
City of Riverside

Advisory Council


Garry Brown,
Orange County Coastkeeper
Valentine “Val” Macedo,
LiUNA Local 89
Captain Mel Vernon,
San Luis Rey Band of Mission Indians
David Victor,
SONGS CEP/UCSD/ Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Jerry Sanders,
San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce


Tom Isaacs,
Independent Strategic Advisor to SCE for Nuclear Waste Management/Former Director, Office of Nuclear Waste Policy within the U.S. DOE

Supporting Members*

Supervisor Terra Lawson-Remer,
County of San Diego
Supervisor Nora Vargas,
Vice Chair, County of San Diego
Mayor Matt Hall,
City of Carlsbad
Mayor Connor Traut,
City of Buena Park
County of Orange
Councilmember Andrea Cardenas,
City of Chula Vista
Supervisor Joel Anderson,
County of San Diego
Councilmember Phil Ortiz,
City of El Cajon
Councilmember Bill Baber,
City of La Mesa
Councilmember Colin Parent,
City of La Mesa
Mayor Will O'Neill,
City of Newport Beach
Councilmember Mike Posey,
City of Huntington Beach
Councilmember Diane Dixon,
City of Newport Beach
Mayor John Taylor,
City of San Juan Capistrano
Association of California Cities - Orange County
Bolsa Chica Conservancy
California Apartment Association - Orange County
Costa Mesa Chamber of Commerce
Dana Point Chamber of Commerce
East County Chamber of Commerce
Laguna Beach Chamber of Commerce
Newport Beach Chamber of Commerce
North Orange County Chamber of Commerce
North San Diego Business Chamber
Orange County Council of Governments
Diane Harkey,
Former California State Board of Equalization Member
Orange County Taxpayers Association
Orange County Professional Firefighters Association, Local 3631
Otay Chamber of Commerce
San Diego County Taxpayers Association
San Clemente Chamber of Commerce
San Diego North Economic Development Council
San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce
San Diego Regional Economic Development Corporation
San Diego Restaurant Association
Mayor Rebecca Jones,
City of San Marcos
Mayor David Shawver,
City of Stanton
Councilman John Franklin,
City of Vista
Jack Monger,
Industrial Environmental Association
Greater Irvine Chamber of Commerce
Sheriff Don Barnes,
County of Orange
Supervisor Nathan Fletcher,
Chair, County of San Diego
Deputy Mayor Michael Morasco,
City of Escondido
City of San Clemente
Councilmember Jose Rodriguez,
City of National City
Mayor Judy Ritter,
City of Vista
Sheriff Bill Gore,
County of San Diego
Councilmember Barbara Delgleize,
City of Huntington Beach
Anaheim/Orange County Hotel and Lodging Association
Apartment Association of Orange County
Capistrano Unified School District
Carlsbad Chamber of Commerce
Former California Coastal Commissioner, Former Mayor Shirley Dettloff,
City of Huntington Beach
National City Chamber of Commerce
Oceanside Chamber of Commerce
La Mesa Chamber of Commerce
Orange County Association of REALTORS
Orange County Fire Authority
Poway Chamber of Commerce
San Diego Port Tenants Association
San Juan Capistrano Chamber of Commerce
San Ysidro Chamber of Commerce
Orange County Business Council
South Orange County Economic Coalition

*Partial list.

Take action today! 

We need your help to advocate for reasonable solutions in the shared interest of our communities.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.