Who We Are

Executive Board

Our Executive Board sets the coalition's goals, directs efforts and oversees activities to support the removal of spent fuel from SONGS and other sites to a federally licensed offsite facility. Executive Board members include local governments and the SONGS plant owners.

  • Supervisor Katrina Foley, County of Orange (Co-Chair)
  • Supervisor Jim Desmond, County of San Diego (Co-Chair)
  • Mayor Patricia Lock Dawson, City of Riverside
  • Caroline Choi, Senior Vice President of Corporate Affairs, Southern California Edison
  • Estela de Llanos, Vice President of Energy Procurement & Sustainability, San Diego Gas & Electric

Advisory Council

Spent Fuel Solutions Advisory Council provides the Executive Board with recommendations and advice related to coalition strategy and activities. Membership includes stakeholders representing diverse interests such as environmental organizations, labor unions, industry experts, community leaders, Native American leaders, and business groups.

  • Garry Brown, Orange County Coastkeeper
  • Tom Isaacs, Independent Strategic Advisor to SCE for Nuclear Waste Management/Former Director, Office of Nuclear Waste Policy within the U.S. Department of Energy
  • Valentine “Val” Macedo, LiUNA Local 89
  • Aaron McCall, California Environmental Voters
  • Rachel Norton, California State Parks Foundation
  • Jerry Sanders, San Diego Regional Chamber of Commerce
  • Captain Mel Vernon, San Luis Rey Band of Mission Indians
  • Dr. David Victor, UC San Diego/ Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Take action today! 

We need your help to advocate for reasonable solutions in the shared interest of our communities.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.